les fleurs animées

One of my favorite illustrators is Jean Ignace Isidore Gérard. He worked under the pseudonym J.J. Grandville, and drew all sorts of incredibly entertaining caricatures, many of which involve animals dressed as people (something that never fails to tickle my funny bone!). Sometime in the 1840’s, he published a 2-volume book called Les Fleurs animées, which features illustrations of anthropomorphized flowers and accompanying tales about their adventures and misadventures. I thought I’d share some of the images, so I hope you enjoy!

Both volumes can be perused (and read, if you understand French!) at the Missouri Botanical Garden website (http://www.illustratedgarden.org/mobot/rarebooks/title.asp?relation=GR780G731847V1)

Though all the lady flowers are indeed lovely, I think my favorite parts of the pictures are the animal sidekicks…

Little Miss Hemlock, dosing her friends with poison…

Poppies will put them to sleeeeeep! Sleeeeeeeeep! 

I’ll get you my pretty, and your little …. donkey, too!

Love the pipe-smoking beetle…

Always nice to end with tea and coffee, don’t you think?

Leave a Reply

