cheerio, saturday!

I woke up {way too early} this morning in a very Downton state of mind. It really is incredible how addictive that show is… (I even wrote a thesis about that very topic… true story.)

So I caught up on the last 2 episodes of the 3rd season, which I’ve been watching (secretly…../”illegally”) since it started airing in the UK. So now I’m completely caught up, and waiting on the edge of my seat for the Christmas Day Special!

*** Fear not, dear readers. I shall not be divulging any spoilers for those of you law-abiding North Americans who are waiting until the “official” airing in January. I am quite pleased to discuss any plot points in private with those of you who have seen season 3.

As I had already set the tone for a British kind of morning, and since the weather was cooperating quite well with this plan, I decided to try making one of my favourite breakfasts: dunker eggs! Many people call these “soft-boiled eggs,” but that’s not nearly as fun to say. My Dad made these for my brother and me all the while we were growing up, and he always drew faces on them… Looked at objectively, I do realise that’s a bit creepy, but it’s fun times just the same!

My Dad's masterpieces from last Christmas morning

My Dad’s masterpieces from last Christmas morning

Now, I had never made eggs this way before, as I’d always heard people moan about how difficult it is to get them right. But, with a little help from this blogger, my eggs were a success!

IMG_0533

This really is quite an accomplishment for me, as anyone who knows me well will tell you that I’m not one of those people who is “good with the cooking”… so yay!

The other thing Downton Abbey always inspires in me is a renewed interest in historic dress. I am a Costume Historian, and while I haven’t worked steadily as one in a while, it’s something I never quite leave behind. So, for those of you who share that interest, I’d like to direct you on over to the FIDM Museum Blog.  My first “real” job after University was as the Study Collection Manager at the FIDM Museum in Los Angeles, so it will always have a special place in my heart. Plus, those folks are awesome! I recommend checking it out — I assure you, you will get hooked.

Going along with the costume drama theme of the morning, here are the museum objects classified under 1910s and 1920s. Here’s a piece from the FIDM collection to get you hooked:

“Robe de Style”, c. 1923, FIDM Museum Study Collection

Can’t you just picture one of the Crawley girls going out on the town in that?

Enjoy, and Have a very Happy Saturday!

Leave a Reply

