glad tidings to you and yours!

It never really feels like Christmas until I watch the Muppet Family Christmas (a TV special from the ’80s that is seriously awesome! You should really go watch it… now.) Luckily, the rest of my family shares my opinion of this cinematic classic, and we just finished this year’s annual screening.

On Christmas Eve, I try to recapture exactly what the night before Christmas morning felt like as a kid. That intense excitement that kept you wide awake even as you willed yourself to sleep, because as soon as you fell asleep, you could wake up, and then it would be Christmas… but there was always that part of you that wanted to stay awake, just in case Santa decided to make his presence known in some way… Christmas Eve seems to last longer than any other night, even as an adult, and a sense of magic and wonderment still lingers in its enduring darkness.

Even if you don’t celebrate Christmas, it never hurts to allow yourself to feel like a child again! I’m spending my night re-watching old favourite movies and cartoons, and re-reading treasured stories.

As Kermit the Frog says, in his eternal wisdom:

There’s magic in the air this evening, magic in the air!

The world is at her best, you know, when people love and care.

The promise of excitement is one the night will keep.

After all, there’s only one more sleep til Christmas!

~~~

Tonight, I’d like to share some photos from a Christmas my family spent in a cabin just outside Yosemite National Park.

IMG_2361

IMG_2381

IMG_8318

IMG_2396

IMG_8418

IMG_8392

IMG_8442

I hope you all have a magical, joyous, heartwarming, relaxing, exhilarating, delicious, satisfying holiday season!

I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year.

I will live in the Past, the Present, and Future.

— Ebenezer Scrooge

Leave a Reply

