away

IMG_4960

I took a little road trip up to Pasadena with some friends this weekend, where we stayed with my parents and had a perfectly relaxing (and pretty decadent) time. I used to work at the Museum at FIDM (Fashion Institute of Design & Merchandising), and I try to go back for visits as often as I can. This Saturday was the opening night of the 22nd Annual Art of Motion Picture Costume Design, so four of us donned our finest and enjoyed an evening wandering the galleries and stuffing ourselves with delicious food! The highlight for me was being able to catch up with my friends/former co-workers, and seeing some incredible 19th-century wedding gowns from the Helen Larson collection.

The rest of the weekend was spent walking/ talking/ eating/ reading/ exploring…. And tea at the Huntington gardens, one of my favorite places in the world!

I love the sculptural quality of Magnolias, and the dark purple ones have the most delicious lemon verbena-y scent!

I love the sculptural quality of Magnolias, and the dark purple ones have the most delicious lemon verbena-y scent!

I also wanted to share with you some arrangements I made last week. I played around with the bright yellow-bedecked twisty branches of Forsythia. This is one of the first flowers to emerge in early Spring, so has special significance for those of us who have lived through harsh winters…

IMG_4991

IMG_4982

IMG_4925

I’m definitely inspired to use some branches in my arrangements for VALENTINE’S DAY this week!

IMG_4987

Leave a Reply

