chiaroscuro

n. In all senses also called claire-obscure

1. The technique of using light and shade in pictorial representation

[Italian: chiaro, bright/light + oscuro, dark]

Sometimes, when photographing my arrangements, I like to take advantage of strong light and dark contrasts. Luckily, some pretty amazing artists also have [had] a taste for chiaroscuro. Somehow, it seems appropriate for the waning days of Fall…

 

{All images are my own, unless otherwise specified}

Francisco de Zurbarán, “Still Life with Lemons, Oranges and a Rose”, 1633
The Norton Simon Foundation

Emanuela Carratoni, “November” [photograph]

Diver & Aguilar, Still from Caravaggio-inspired “Chiaroscuro” shoot for the October 2010 issue of Riders Moda

I suppose I will always be an Art History nerd at heart…

Leave a comment